Diamonds in the Desert: A Baseball Blog from Tucson


Toros Seal a Sweep vs. Victoria
June 5, 2010, 16:18
Filed under: Uncategorized

The Toros swept the Victoria Seals during their homestand on the 1st through the 3rd of June.  The team’s starting pitchers (Vince Davis, Albie Lopez, and Matt Lincoln) all went deep into their games and didn’t start off by handing the Seals a batch of runs in the first inning.  This is a real sign of improvement – during the original homestand, our starters got in trouble early and then were able to recover.  Much nicer when they take command early!   The Toros were also hitting up a storm, but showed an inability to get those clutch hits:   in the game on Thursday night the Toros got 16 hits…and left 16 on base.  I don’t know how many innings ended with the bases loaded!  In my initial post of the season, I neglected to mention one other “new” thing in the GBL this season:  NL rules.  Which means pitchers have to hit (and that is probably one of the big reasons for the dramatic overhaul of the roster this season).  I’ve grown up rooting for NL teams, so am partial to that style of play.  And I was tickled to see our starting pitchers battle in the box rather successfully against Victoria.  The best probably came from Albie Lopez.  During one of his at-bats, he squared up to bunt, dinged a couple foul and then swung at a pitch – a solid hit!  Bounced right over the head of the third-baseman who was crashing in towards home!  The one consistent negative I noted in this homestand was a series of errors committed by our 3B, Wally Backman, Jr.  No doubt he’s trying, but he was just eaten alive by a number of hits to 3B during the series.  I have to do more research on this, because it really looks like Wally is just now learning that position on the field.  Poor guy was just clobbered by the Seals. 

Unfortunately, after the homestand sweep, the Toros handed the St. George team a win last night in Utah.  Maybe it was just a one off…let’s hope so! 

Oh Shrek!  During the opening homestand in May, the good folks at McDonalds were handing out their heavy-duty “Shrek” promotional drinking glasses to early-arriving fans.  They’re absolutely great glasses…except for the cadmium (toxic metal) in the paint on the glass.  McDonalds has suspended sales of all the promotional items and recalled those already distributed.  I am so bummed!  I LOVED my Donkey glass!! 

Baseball’s Kumbaya Moment.  As much as I love baseball and watching the game be played, I am often disheartened and disappointed in some of the antics and poor sportsmanship displayed by the players, coaches, managers, and officials (on and off the field) and so I have a very different take on the story out of Detroit with the now famous “nearly perfect perfect game” pitched by Armando Galarraga.  Okay, you’ve heard the story about how veteran umpire Jim Joyce blew a key call at first base, awarding a runner the base when the Tigers had clearly gotten the ball to the bag before the runner arrived…  In all the screaming for instant replay (oh please NO) and jeering at Joyce, I have found my belief in this thing called baseball enhanced by the personal integrity displayed by both Galarraga and Joyce.  After the blown call, Galarraga smiled…pitched a final out instead of a hissy fit…and confidently faced the press without a bad word for Joyce.  This is what we call being a GOOD SPORT, fans.  We’ve come a long way since this time, but eons ago, youth sports were about training young kids to be good sports:  to learn how to win and lose with grace and dignity.  Lessons like those are now the fodder for historical accounts of old-time America, I guess.  But clearly Armando paid attention.  And then there was Mr. Joyce himself.  After seeing a replay of his bad call, he owned up to the mistake.  And that, my friends, is something that is not easy to do when millions of fans are already breathing down your neck and calling for blood.  Bad call – my bad – I’m sorry.  How refreshing!  I have never seen such an exchange handled by both sides with such integrity and grace.  It gives me great hope.  These are the lessons I want you to learn, my sons and daughters…be like Galarraga and Joyce…and the world will be a better place for it. 

(Disclaimer – for all Toros away games [and some home games I miss] this blog will be composed from information gleaned from the official GBL stats site at http://www.pointstreak.com/baseball/schedule.html.  Additionally, this posting has not been reviewed/approved by Pima County, the City of Tucson, the Tucson Toros, the Reno Aces, Diamondbacks, PCL, MiLB, MLB, Golden Baseball League, National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues, Tucson Baseball LLC, SK Baseball LLC, or any other baseball official and represents the views and biases of the author alone)

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

wordpress seems to be having some difficulties today…no matter what I do I cannot get the gap in today’s post fixed! ARGH! Here is the messed up paragraph in its entirety:

Baseball’s Kumbaya Moment. As much as I love baseball and watching the game be played, I am often disheartened and disappointed in some of the antics and poor sportsmanship displayed by the players, coaches, managers, and officials (on and off the field) and so I have a very different take on the story out of Detroit with the now famous “nearly perfect perfect game” pitched by Armando Galarraga. Okay, you’ve heard the story about how veteran umpire Jim Joyce blew a key call at first base, awarding a runner the base when the Tigers had clearly gotten the ball to the bag before the runner arrived… In all the screaming for instant replay (oh please NO) and jeering at Joyce, I have found my belief in this thing called baseball enhanced by the personal integrity displayed by both Galarraga and Joyce. After the blown call, Galarraga smiled…pitched a final out instead of a hissy fit…and confidently faced the press without a bad word for Joyce. This is what we call being a GOOD SPORT, fans. We’ve come a long way since this time, but eons ago, youth sports were about training young kids to be good sports: to learn how to win and lose with grace and dignity. Lessons like those are now the fodder for historical accounts of old-time America, I guess. But clearly Armando paid attention. And then there was Mr. Joyce himself. After seeing a replay of his bad call, he owned up to the mistake. And that, my friends, is something that is not easy to do when millions of fans are already breathing down your neck and calling for blood. Bad call – my bad – I’m sorry. How refreshing! I have never seen such an exchange handled by both sides with such integrity and grace. It gives me great hope. These are the lessons I want you to learn, my sons and daughters…be like Galarraga and Joyce…and the world will be a better place for it.

Comment by windersblog

That’s an amazing post. Thanks a lot

Comment by Nikolaus




Leave a Reply

